NESM Welding Program Scholarship Options

    We are currently building our own scholarship program specificaly to award to our welding program. Until we have finalized this program to open, please utilize any of the links below which we have researched to find as the best fits to searching for assistance for financial support.

   Bring Back the Trades

   Mike Rowe Works

   Americas Trades Foundations

   American Welding Society

   Lincoln Electric

   Maine Blue Collar Scholarship


NESM Metalsmithing Scholarship Program

   The New England School of Metalwork, Metalsmithing Program; awards four scholarships annually, which are available through competitive application to those who are 16 years of age or older. Two are awarded in Bladesmithing and two in Blacksmithing. Applicants may only apply for one scholarship annually. Applicants are encouraged to be selective in their choice of workshop, indicating first and second choices. The scholarships are for a complete course and the associated cost such as registration and material fees. A dorm or travel allowance of 35% of course tuition is a part of each scholarship. Please keep in mind that answers to the questions on the application form are an important part of the review process. Focused application responses and thoughtful discussion of ones plans and focus of the scholarship tend to be more favorably received.

     Thanks to generous donations from individuals we are offering four opportunities:

    1. Al Pratt Memorial Scholarship for Blacksmithing (open to all)

    2. Richrad C. Wright; Ruel Wright Memorial Blacksmithing Scholarship (criteria required, see application for details)

    3. David and Rachel Knowlton Bladesmithing Scholarship (open to all)(NON ABS courses)

    4. Maritime Knife Supply - ABS Intro to Bladesmithing Scholarship (open to 16-35)

      By clicking the link below you will have an entire application package and instructions to apply.

   2025 Award Cycle will open the first week of November !!  

                         2025 COMMON APPLICATION

The 2025 scholarship applications will be only be accepted after November 1, 2024. This coincides with the release of our 2025 course schedule so applicants can review the courses to select from. The deadline of application to NESM is December 1, 2024 with a notification to the individuals awarded by January 1, 2025.

              Notifications to those not awarded will follow.

     If you have any questions on application please email to inquire.

      Thank you,

    NESM Administrative Director          

    Dereck Glaser